Adam's Images

By ajt

Cyclamen

Today has been cold, wet and windy. This morning it was pouring with rain and blowing a gale so rather than go for a bike ride we stayed indoors and I did the ironing.

We then had about 1 hour or so of surprisingly heavy snow. Lots of big fluffy flakes. The ground was sodden and it wasn't really cold enough so it didn't stick. After that we had a pause, so I ventured out to the Cooperative for rations - with camera - only to have it start to rain on me. The ornamental cherries in village are all in bloom but the rain and wind didn't engender them to photography.

When I got home I pottered about with a macro lens, trying various things in the house - mostly so I could avoid doing any real work I must confess. My better half got these cyclamen from a friend and though they are not hardy enough to live outside they do rather well in the coolness of the dining room.

I'm not sure which species or cultivar they are, but they were shop bought in the UK, so I'd bet they are your common or garden (if you will pardon the pun) florists cyclamen: Cyclamen persicum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.