Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

They Say Dogs Look Like Their Owners

- This actually isn't my dog. But the lines on the forehead looked a lot like mine after a day out of photographing and coming home to discover 98% of the photos are bad.

The first sign that something was wrong was when I went on hike in the Dyke Marsh off the Potomac River (about 5 miles south of DC in VA) this morning. I was trying to take pictures of the marsh and noticed that everything was overexposed no matter what setting I used. I powered the camera off, turned it back on and then the auto focus stopped working. I settled for the latter as at least I could manually focus. After the hike, I went to Old Town Alexandria to take pictures of the beautiful old buildings and shoreline.

I got home this afternoon and reviewed the photographs and out of 200, maybe 5 are good enough to keep - color and contrast pretty much bad in all. This picture was one of the 5 that somehow made it through - I'm not sure who this dog belongs to as it was tied to a tree outside of a restaurant.

I'm going to try and reset the camera to factory defaults this evening. If this doesn't work, I guess I'll have to return the camera to Nikon (still under warranty I think).

On the positive side, at least this didn't happen while on vacation or at a location that I cannot easily go to at will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.