Pick your part

A quick blip and a quick post before rushing out to the Festival of World Cultures on Saturday morning.

I spotted this in an industrial estate off the Malahide Road. Spare motor parts, waiting to be picked. I can't say I'd be very happy if any of this stuff ended up in a car of mine -- it all looks a bit too grotty and rusty for my liking.

It was a good day today. Derek dropped in for coffee and chat. This used be quite a regular thing, but we've been consistently missing one another the last several times he's phoned to say he was in the neighbourhood, most recently yesterday. This time, though, I was determined to be here and available. We had a great old chinwag, mostly about musical downloads and digital musical setups.

I've been deeply immersed in the whole thing for the past few months and have expanded my digital musical collection considerably over that time. A nice bonus is the the interactions and connections between various sites which I stumble on. Late this evening I found my way to NPR (National Public Radio) Music in the US and spent hours listening to and recording stuff. It was fascinating and instructive and entertaining, but I was ended up getting to bed much later than I planned to. I might need to resort to some matchstick propping of eyelids in order to stay awake for the weekend's cultural involvement.

The forecast is reasonable, so here's hoping for good times and more rewarding experiences.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.