The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Long Tailed Tit - The Best Nest Builders Ever!

Spring continues to .. well ... spring!

I have had natures powder puffs in full nest building mode in my garden of late.

These are quite simply the greatest nest builders in the UK. They collect feathers and spiders webs to weave a nest ball in the crook of a tree. This gives them a double fold advantage. Not only is the nest incredibly cosy warm, it also has the ability to stretch as the young chicks grow within it. They are also incredibly social little birds, who share the parenting duties amongst the flock (or a banditry as you regular readers of this blog will know!).

I've never seen a Long Tailed Tits nest for myself, but there is clearly one about here, as I have watched them plucking feathers from the lawn from a recent pigeon/ sparrowhawk kill.

You see, nature always recycles!

To see what a nest looks like .. Click here.

Rejected blips (I figured you had seen enough Blue Tits and Reed Buntings of late!)

Male Reed Bunting In The Hazel Tree

Blue Tit In The Hedgerow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.