End of the line

Another glorious day but chilly. Up bright and early and off to Bantry to take the newsletter to the printers and to extract a miserably large amount of money out of my Credit Union account to pay for Hector's misbehaving. One a positive note though, last night I emptied all the pots and tins of spare change - I hate small change and refuse to use it so just throw it in heaps - bagged it up into 1 cent, 2 cent etc, hauled it all into the Credit Union where the lady behind the counter somewhat grudgingly weighed it all out - result - 50 euro!! This view looks out to where the old train terminal used to be, long since disappeared. Bantry is surrounded by a natural amphitheatre of hills and is full of brightly coloured buildings. It's a good solid working town, no big branded stores, no pretensions and not many consessions to tourism. I like it.

The walking bus resumes tomorrow - I think rain is forecast. I shall pick up any customers at 8.30 by the old bridge. It's a great place to wait for you can watch the world go by - the red fishing boat usually goes out at this point, a famer parks next to me with his milk quota ready to be sent off, Jim is out walking his dogs on the shore, the curious cattle in the field come for an inspection; and my presence will be noted and remarked upon.

Slight glitch re website - himself is busily doing technical things re servers and sites, so we're not quite ready to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.