The Bluebell Creeper

In the cabin towards dusk, I saw the sun's last rays bathing the top of the Sollya Heterophylla, whose common name is the Bluebell Creeper. I bought it several years ago from a very interesting nursery near Wylye in Wiltshire. Apparently it comes from Australia and is only half-hardy, which is why I have kept it in a pot and over-winter it in the cabin, as it is very well insulated.

Its flowers are pretty, pendant, blue and bell-shaped, hence the name, and develops these seed pods or berries, which hang down in copious small clumps. I know I must prune it back properly this spring, as it got a bit ragged last year and the longer stems got ripped, and were nearly torn off and the plant was not happy.

The good news is that I have noticed there is very little scale insect infestation on it, which nearly sucked it dry last year. So I think I will repot it, prune and tie it to a better firm stem with raffia and wait for the gorgeous flowers that always make me smile and stay for months if protected from the wind. A real gem of a plant., and i have just read that the berries are edible!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.