My Year in Pictures

By jenny

Cruising

Backblipped 5th March

Up early at 4.30am for the optional walk out of the desert and much warmer than I expected - even managed to pack my bag without my fleece on!

15 of us (plus headtorches!) headed out of camp at 5.30am with Larsen leading the way again. A fabulous way to start the day walking in the dark and seeing the sky getting gradually pinker and lighter behind you.

Stopped at around 6.45 ish and watched the sunrise unfold which was just beautiful. The landcruisers then rocked up and we had just over an hour of rocky, bumpy, sandy terrain before we hit the road.

Had a brief stop (where we were freezing cold!) then carried on with the drive back to Ouarzazte. A brief picnic stop at 10.30am and arrived back at our hotel around 12.30. Six of us dumped our bags and headed into town for a bit of shopping - first stop the icecream shop! We met a lovely English lady who owned a hotel who gave some great advice about where to get the best bargains and bargains we did indeed find! Between us (and then everyone we then subsequently directed to it) the pottery shop must have had a great day!

Chilling by the pool, interspersed with unbraiding one of the girls plaits - 8 of us participating in group grooming! - and then up to the room to sort my bag (found my lip balm in the depths of my rucksack) and have a much needed shower!

Then had a serious workout when I attempted to get my main bag shut! I'm definitely taking a bigger bag if I ever do this again!

All then met for our celebration dinner - and I was a complete party animal by sharing a bottle of wine with only one other person and staying up until 9.15pm!

Day Seven Stats:
3 miles/1 hour 16 mins
Ascent/descent 42/10 feet
Calories 387
Map

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.