Earache MyEyeInA Nutshell

By RichPaula

Up in the roof

I've always loved attic rooms. This stems back to when my family used to go and stay with relations for weekends and Christmases in Yorkshire. They had two bedrooms in their attic and it was like a separate little house for my sisters and me. Imagine Lord of the Flies but without the horribleness. We'd lie in bed at night and listen to the ships' horns as they came into port. In the mornings I'd get into bed with my sisters where we'd sing songs and play games.

We've bought a house with a converted loft. While it's nowhere as big as my Aunty and Uncle's, it's big enough to use as a bit of a den. It's like a little secret hideaway from people who visit. I know as an adult I should have grown out of dens by now, but hey. There's a window in the slope of the roof which gives a whole different perspective on where you live as you're up higher than most. It's fun trying to identify buildings from angles you wouldn't normally look at them from. A view from the window is a Blip for another time. And yes, I know about the colour on the walls...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.