A Day

The sun was out, it was warmish. The bus I got on in the morning to go into town broke and we all had to get off and onto another. Then that bus was rerouted at Roseburn. Everyone was huffing and puffing.

Once in town I did a few choreish things then I went into M&S foodhall and picked up a bean salad. The exit from here provided some glorious light and lots of dust motes. So I got my camera out. Then of course, as I knew would happen, a security guard appeared as a wee head at the top of the stairs.

"I know" I said before he could say a word.

"sorry, I know it's boring but I'm just doing my job" he said

"I just like the light, I'm taking a picture of Princes St" I said

"Ok" he said with a wink and walked away.

When I surfaced he was waiting for me. He apologised and said he really just wanted to get out in the sun for a bit.

From then on everyone I encountered was happy, relaxed, polite...............friendly.
Scotland needs more sun.

I felt relaxed and happyish.

Then later in the day I discovered the reason the bus had been rerouted. A cyclist had been killed on Corstorphine Rd. This is a Road that Kevin and others I know, regularly use as cyclists.

When I'm walking or driving around Edinburgh I'm always very aware of cyclists as I used to cycle to work through the city myself. It always amazes me how many don't wear helmets or high visibility jackets. Even with lights at dusk cyclists are not always seen.

I'd love to get back on my bike and cycle into the city centre again but I'm just too scared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.