The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

The Quest

Recently, I began the process of revising the first complete draft of my debut novel manuscript. A tortuous task.

Fifteen months of writing looks different on the computer than when it's printed out, hole-punched, and divided up in a 3-ring binder.

A writer friend reminded me that I must now look at it by individual chapters, not as a whole. Not yet. That would come later. She then remarked that it may take several months to do so.

How comforting is that?

This was difficult to accept, but she was correct, and it did give me a new perspective on things. I had completed the first part of my journey, and now had to wear a new hat and start walking again, step-by-step, to my next rest stop.

Arthur Miller once said, "One's destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things."

He had a point, didn't he?

Note to editor/self: Rewrite is a fresh start. This will be FUN!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.