Again and Again

By Ripitup

Like Billio

My plan today in poor light and on/off drizzle was a quick lunchtime trip to capture a picture of my 2nd 'blue plaque'.

It is situated on the front of a local church and reads

'Joseph Billio Born 1668 The fervour of his preaching in the 1696 meeting house on this site led to the phrase "like billio"

As the rain had temporaily eased off, I had a quick recce, to log any future potential 'quick blips' and took a couple of headstone pictures to help me remember for next time.

Have had a bit of a read up since getting home about Joseph Billio, my favourite of which reads ....

"Unfortunately, the word is first recorded only from the end of the nineteenth century, which makes it much too recent to be linked with Mr Billio, who otherwise is a minor figure even in Maldon history. It's not often a folk etymology comes with a blue plaque attached - it will be a permanent record that the civic pride of Maldon people exceeds their etymological knowledge"

I may yet blip the plaque but am going to do a bit more research about the man first and preferred this picture anyway.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.