Optic Nerve

By BillFroog

Tiffy. Spring reaches the Lodge Causeway pavement.

Tiffy - The Man with the Golden Gun? Too much Ian Fleming at an early age?

Anyway - the bushes were bursting with Mono Sodium Glutamate blooms as I happened by. The indelicately perfumed petals obviously fortified by the mulch of decomposing drinks cans, and flavourings. Urban biodiversity I calls it. Pleased with this blip - as these are fragile blooms that I've never seen before.

"My momma had six girls. Called them all after flowers. Violet, Rose, Cherry, Pansy, and Lily. Then when I came, she couldn't think of any more flower names so she called me Artificial." Tiffy waited for him to laugh. When he didn't, she went on. "When I went to school they all said it was a wrong name and laughed at me and shortened it to Tiffy and that's how I've stayed."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.