Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Zdravo slovenija!

The flights are booked, the hotel, guides and licenses will be soon.

We're off to fish the Soca and Idrijca rivers around Tomlin (and the tributaries thereof) and even several weeks beforehand I'm ridiculously excited.

I've been researching some of the flies we'll need and it seems that what's required is a mixture of small fish imitations and invertebrate imitations. Obviously we'll need to buy some of the local killer patters but I wouldn't be proper flyfisherman/ entomologist if I didn't have a bash at matching the local fauna myself.

Ergo, I'll be producing a great many barbless versions of this lot I've made previously plus some stuff with sparkly tails that look like prey fish and fry. I suspect (as it is in the UK) the insects will get the grayling and the prey fish will sort out the big predators.

I'm quite proud of what I manage to cobble together from fluff, feathers and sparkly stuff wound around a hook - mostly because it's bloody fiddly and they need to be pretty small. To demonstrate I've included a bit of copper plated steel with a picture of some Doris who's got some sort of anniversary coming up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.