Docadiem

By Kathee

MATCHPLAY - AUTOGRAPHS & PHOTGRAPHS

BUT FIRST
A GROUP HUG TO YOU ALL
Plus a big thank-you for turning the spotlight Tabasco's direction yesterday.
______________________

THE PLAYERS
Top pros from around the world who play amazing golf here in the desert. Mostly young, personable, and darn cute. It's fun to watch them relate to the fans. In a bad economy, you better make the fans feel important or forget about those all important sponsor dollars. Most have a kind word for the oh-too-adorable little boys that line the ropes for a signature.

Miguel Jimenez poses for candids, with his peeps, but not without his stogie.
Matt Kucher like many others, thanks the fans for coming out.
Phil Michelson holds a meet & greet at end of practice, staying as long as necessary.
Martin Kaymer often asks a group to walk with him to the green.

AS FOR ME
Big Ernie Els, said,"Come on then." When I asked him to sign my hat. To "Come on", I had to nimbly limbo under the ropes and walk/run to catch up. With camera and 70-300 slung over my shoulder, and dozens of people watching.

AND THEN THERE WAS TIGER = Matchplay 2011 Rewind
Tiger returns after a lay off, dealing with personal problems. Even in good times, I found him aloof, indifferent. I was following Sergio when I saw him heading toward #11 tee. I decided to grab a quick tee shot. Maybe give him a second chance. Hey, a guy can change.

Tiger starts his swing. A shutter clicks. This requires a force-stop, mid- swing. Then, for emphasis, a club toss in my direction. Stevie Boy steps toward me pummeling me with curses. Instinctively, I say, "It wasn't me." Actually, it was a teeny-tiny Korean photographer standing next to me. Didn't matter. And, let's say I had clicked at the wrong time. A practice round. Give me a break.
Such a fuss.
About 20 people witnessed the scene. Not one followed him down the fairway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.