Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Wild Goose Chase

Last night went well. My happy-ometer overflows when I hear of the trials and tribulations that used to vex me are still stressing my ex-colleagues in their place of work. NOT that I want them to be stressed of course, I'm just happy that I'm not involved any more.

After Plan B yesterday, it was Plan C today. In one of the art mags that I picked up at the Wee Gallery, I spotted a lovely wee ceramic figure at a new exhibition in a cobbled street named after a saint. I hot-footed it there this morning to view said piece. Walked up and down cobbled street (on the pavement, of course). No gallery. Quite a few empty shops though, which is a shame as it 's a great wee street.

To console myself, I popped into the nearby sister cafe of yesterday's Epic Toasted Scone and Very Passable Coffee. More disappointment. They didn't toast the scone. Obviously not Company Policy. However, I was able to sit and fiddle with my wee tripod and use the zoom, aperture settings and self timer to take photos of the lovely brass coffee thingies. On a grey day, this shot will have to be the one. I did a quick 'plastic wrap' effect in Photoshop. Don't really know if it adds anything. Except plastic wrap, of course.

Came home and looked again at the art mag. Yes, the gallery was in the street of the saint. But no... it was not in Edinburgh. It was in the artists' town of Kirkcudbright! They have a street named after this saint too. Actually, she possibly has many, many streets named after her. Probably saved myself some money, as there is no art fund left anyway.

Won't put my slippers on, shall just relax and Escape to the Country for a while, as I'm out again later to attend a (free) talk at the National Gallery on Cadell and Jolomo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.