Spur-winged Plovers

(Also know as Masked plovers)

I had to go up to the hospital for a change of dressing so I took my camera with me as I knew it would be the only time I was likely to get out today.

This couple were posing on the side of the road for me and although I managed to also get a decent shot of them in flight as they took off, I thought I'd blip this one becuase it shows their spurs (either side of upper chest).

When their wings are spread the spurs are on the forward point of the wing and they use them to attack other birds. They are really territorial and their rat-a-tat screeching can often be heard to scare other birds (and people) away. If that doesn't work they take to the air to physically attack with claw and spur. They even gang up on hawks.

I love their bravery and pushiness - and the way they stand like soldiers with chests out and feet planted solidly.

Their spurs will stand out better in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.