fs2012

By FrankS

The Gas Man Cometh

Funny old day today. Had to spend a lot of it in the house waiting for the National Grid (I'm sure they used to be something to do with electricity) to send an engineer around to check our gas meter.

The letter they sent back in February had me fuming, saying that they had tried numerous times to get into the property (our house!) and that if they couldn't manage it today had the power to take out a Magistrates Order enforcing such entry - WHAT?

And just to be helpful they would send someone between 8am and 8pm, so that's alright then, all I have to do is stay within listening distance of the front door without taking the dog for a walk, or using the loo, or going down the garden FOR 12 HOURS! on threat of riot police with a battering ram breaking down the front door and shouting whilst they searched the house for the gas meter.

I finally lost patience and rang to give them a piece of my mind, this I did to three different people after being passed around via Press 1 for this, Press 2 for that (once there was seven choices, I had to write them down to try and remember them).

The engineer arrived ten minutes after my rant - seems it does work sometimes. He was so polite I didn't want to shout at him, he's only doing a job, and was in and out in five minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.