from where I am today

By Troutfish

Closed

I don't think I said you could stop in for a drink in all the pubs in the series.

I cannot remember when this closed, I remember it being called "The Hillburn" and it being owned by a woman. This was in the sixties and my father was the manager there during that time. Scottish & Newcastle took it over and I think they renamed it "The Ski Lodge". They took out the skittle ally and replaced it with a themed ski-related bar which I don't think lasted long.

After another major refurbishment and another change of name to "The Fairmile Inn" it survived a good few years as a restaurant and bar until ??????? '99 2000 maybe. I can't remember - maybe you tell me! What I do know is that there will be no "Back Gantry" tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.