Bridge Canera

Belhaven Bridge this morning. Here's another pinhole taken with the Illy coffee-can "canera". I'm so pleased this worked! The antici...pation was hard to bear :)

Big Bridge.

I loaded the can-era (haaha!) with Ilford paper yesterday at the Edinburgh Pinhole Camera Festival and carried it home. I set the alarm early this morning and set off down the beach on the way to the station. At the Festival darkroom later in the day I developed the image and... it worked. Phew!

The challenges are fun to overcome. First, it was windy as hell. So, I got a huge iron G-clamp out and clamped the camera in that. Second, it was a bit low down so I took the BikeBin off the bike and filled it with stones then plonked the G-clamped canera on that. Third, I was guessing where it was pointing so I put the digital camera on top and took some test shots. Then I jammed a stone under the BikeBin - that seemed about right. Fourth, the exposure was a complete guess (about 15 seconds). Fifth, the clouds were skudding over and I hoped to get bright light on the bridge and the Bass Rock - and failed on both counts, because I had to zoom off for the train.

Great fun, a decent result, and lots more ideas. Pinhole is fab :)

Music: King Creosote and John Hopkins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.