With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Rooftop reminiscence

Writers' group this morning was in a flat looking over Soller. We used to live in a flat next door, and today I could peer down onto the terrace where Ben played as a toddler. He remembers a lot about the place, just telling me now that he wouldn't go under the pergola with all the bougainvillea (now removed) because of the bees. I remembered the old kitchen with a range (and cockroaches), the bathroom with live walls (When I was pregnant with Little Agu, I got so many shocks just opening the cupboard above the sink I was worried he would be born with his hair standing on end!) and the fabulous antique light fitting studded with huge coloured glass beads. And of course the Brazilians that used to live up in this place, always partying, grilling sardines and dancing, sometimes waving down to us. I loved it.

Otherwise a very strange day. But that's another story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.