Mystery Easter egg

My mum had a nice long weekend in the Isle of white last weekend & brought me back this unusual objet d'art. It has no purpose other than being aesthetically pleasing & demonstrating the makers craftsmanship.

It's a hand made Russian doll type egg composed of a number of types of wood (there are about 6 eggs of decreasing size inside ending in a thimble sized egg) & its housed in its own lovely little wooden & glass display cabinet & according to the sales woman is one of only two in existence.

Its very well made and a great talking point.

I have a recurring dream about a curiosity shop that is filled with such objects - magazines, books, stuffed animals etc & in the dreams I'm always fascinated by all tge things & am searching for something (I'm not sure what?).

It's as if this curious piece has been lifted right out of my dream & into reality!

I'd love to know more about the artist but haven't found anything from a cursory search on Google.

On the back it has a handwritten pencil note so at least I know where it was made:

T. E. Jose (could be Dose?) Sandown high school 89-90 2nd Egg

Hope your enjoying your weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.