Plus ça change...

By SooB

Moth

First one of these I've seen this year - in the garden centre.

This morning was mainly spent refereeing disputes among small boys in our garden (two of our neighbours seem to be fighting over who will be Conor's best friend). And the afternoon ferrying Conor to a party on the other side of town for his bi-lingual friend's birthday. Katherine was invited to stay at the party too, so I was gifted a blissful few hours wandering about the shops alone. Including the garden centre where - after some good advice on my clay soil - I bought some plants to add to the lavender Mr B bought in the market this morning. Tomorrow, all being well, we should have a 'proper' border (ie one with a few plants in rather than just some half-dead crocuses, a few bulbs and some irises that probably won't grow.

All was nearly not well when, despite a long chat with the hostess about what foodstuffs might kill Conor, he went leftfield and managed to run full pelt into a door. He has a huge lump on his head but doesn't seem concussed (when I asked him who the Prime Minister was he pointed out that he has never known the answer to that so it's a stupid question to ask - so I took that to mean he was fine). His friend's mum gave him three homeopathic remedies. Hmmm. I wonder how she would react if I gave her son 'conventional' medicine if he was hurt at my house. I suppose folk feel safe giving homeopathic stuff because it can't possibly have any side-effects. So, Conor is left with a very sore head and a huge lump - and tonight he'll have Calpol to help him sleep and it will take the pain away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.