Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Partial Transit

We had a cruise through part of the Panama Canal today, taking in the Miraflores and San Miguel Locks, which are on the Pacific side. The third set, the Gatun Locks are the biggest but I prefer these.
This is my sixth visit to the canal: the fourth time of doing this and twice transiting (canal jargon for going in one end and coming out the other) on cruise ships. I've made a composite web page of my previous trips which I'll link here when I find an ISP less censorious than the one here in Panama. It blocks almost every site I try to reach - even the clean ones!
The blip is of the Miraflores Locks taken from our tour boat. The ship ahead looks as if it is almost touching the sides of the lock but they can fit bigger ones in. The largest ships are known as Panamax - the maximum size that can pass through the locks. There are many ships way too large to fit through, known as Post-Panamax. In 2014, the canal's centenary year, Panama will be opening new locks to allow Post-Panamax, or New Panamax shipping to use the canal.
More than you ever wanted to know here:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.