What Do I See

By MatthewHicks

Cold War Kids

Thanks to Fiona (Ithaca) I got the opportunity to go onto the 'airside' of the former USAF Upper Heyford airbase.

You get a sense of the place driving around the perimeter and the area. Camp Road passes through the middle of the old base, splitting the airbase from the housing and accommodation and general stuff.

We didn't go far onto the base, and part of the main runway was being used for a trackday, with a number expensive cars hooning up and down at great speed (and our activities catching the attention of their safety people!) The place is littered with hardened bunkers for storing the aircraft in, which made great subjects, and lots of little details. Signs, buildings, road markings, all just that bit different that it was well worth photographing.

It was one of those days where I wish I could post more than one picture today. I had so many I wish I could put up. This was the one I chose.

Beside a taxiway that lead down to the 20th CRS (component repair squadron) propulsion unit (engine repair I would hazard a guess) was a small bomb shelter come pill box. It had a great view out of the window like opening to one of the hangars.

Thanks again to Fiona for making today possible. It was a great opportunity, one I would love to repeat. I could spend the best part of a day wondering around there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.