Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

A Wonderful Visit

- in Berryville, VA

I went out to see my second cousin Nancy on Friday at her friends house in Berryville, VA. The house was built around 1820 and is absolutely beautiful inside and out. Of course, a property this old always has something that needs fixing. Lucky us - the furnance died around 6 PM on Friday. Enough wine, a good fire, and great converstation helped keep the chill off at least until bedtime.

I burrowed under multiple layers of blankets and actually slept quite well. I was the first to get up this morning so I started the fire, got a quick shower and then took the opportunity to take some pictures of the house before folks started to get up.

Although all the rooms were beautiful with high ceilings and painted with period colors, the stairway was my favorite spot. I love the number of steps and the hand carved railing. I've made friends with the owners of this lovely home and hope to get back out for another visit before the summer heat settles in - no central air... I could probably get enough photographs of this place to blip for a solid month or two.

I'll close as this perfect day ends...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.