must try harder

By halfcj

Deep in thought.

It was a fabulous day. Warm. Bright. Wales beat Italy and stay on course for their third Grand Slam in Eight seasons. All round good day.

As the sun sloped away, I took Dilly down to Bushy Park and let him run around. We had an extended walk mostly due to this old fella. As we came into the park he caught my eye mostly because of the strange way he was standing, bag behind his back and that he was fairly motionless. I thought nothing more of it as Dilly and I followed our usual route.

15 minutes later, we turned on our heels to avoid deer, resting in the evening sun, chewing cud. The last thing they needed was a crazy Welsh Springer dancing around them wanting to play! We passed the old fella again. In exactly the same place. Exactly the same stance. I found it curious, so we sat on an old log, man and his dog at his feet, and watched. He didn't move.

I had no idea how long he had been there before we arrived. We sat and watched him for another 15 minutes. Dylan got bored, left my side, going off to follow squirrel trails.

What could be on someone's mind that would make them stand in one place for so long? At Peace? In turmoil? Let's hope the former. (I took this before I left. He was still there as we exited the gate.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.