Docadiem

By Kathee

THEY'RE RUNNING.- POST TIME 1:00

IN THE PADDOCK
#8 jerked away from his handlers, out of the stall and onto his back. Panic stricken he righted himself and ran out onto the race course. When brought back his mouth was bleeding. So sad to see this mighty horse, so stressed.
Plus, scratched from the race. I've seen jockeys tossed in the paddock but never a horse. Blame the handlers ? I don't know. I guess 3-4 people are no match for a 1,500 lb. horse.

JOCKEY FROM CALIFORNIA
One owner imported a jockey from California to ride today. He wore a red pompon on top of his hat. Hmmm. Came in last place.

TITO
Part of security. The sitting down part. Been working at Rillito for 60 years. Even knew Bob Baffert. He had stunning white hair in a pony tail midway down his back. I know, I hear ya, Why didn't I photo him. Well, he was on the other side of the fence and working. Plus, the light was all wrong.

JENNY
Met her at the rails. Owns a dozen horses, not racing. Would love to have me photograph her 1 year olds. Horses, up close. I'm all over that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.