horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Olympians

Celebration
Jubilation
Exhiliration
Of a nation

Well done all
On the medal haul
Stand proud and tall
Olympians

--------------------

David Florence (silver - canoe), Ross Edgar (silver - cycling), Katherine Grainger (silver - rowing) and Chris Hoy (3 golds - cycling) lap up the adulation of the huge crowd on the Royal Mile as they are paraded to Holyrood. Despite the daft time of 1.30pm, when most people are at work, and kids are at school, the crowds were anticipated to be around 7,000.

I rode up on a late lunch to soak it up and get some inspiration for my own Olympic dream.

It was at least a celebratory part of a day that hadn't started well, and got worse with some news of one of our cats following some tests by the vet. Getting on the bike is a usual form of escape, so it was nice to have the excuse to go out at lunchtime.

The boss is back from two weeks holiday tomorrow, so it doesn't get any better.

(p.s. I should also state that I'm actually English (or a close approximation being from Newcastle) - though my family moved to Aberdeen when I was 4 - but it didn't stop me being incredibly impressed by these guys and proud of their achievements).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.