October 4th Journal

By IONAX

The Deacon of Dark River

This is the mini-poster for my first animated film. It took 15 years to get the money to produce it and it only happened because the director of The Nordic Film and TV Fund (1991) liked the storyboard manuscript. He put me in contact with The Swedish TV2 in Växjö and they became co-producers.

My idea was to make this film in five years in Iceland by myself, but then my friend and our wives held Nordic Light Animation Festival in Iceland and we managed to invite 10 people from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania - to make a long story short - I vent to Latvia and made the film in Dauka Film Studios in Riga in five months. In all 103 artist of all kind worked on this film with me.

If you are curious and want more information you can Google "The Deacon of Dark River" or you can look at the back of the poster here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.