0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Hoover Damn

On recommendation from a fellow 365-er (thanks Chris), I joined the ODC Group on Flickr - Our Daily Challenge. The group sets a daily topic/theme and members submit their related work. Today's topic was 'Chore'. Ironically, I had several chores to complete today so decided to combine my Project 365 with ODC.

Chore is a very personal thing and can relate to anything really, big or small. However, the first idea that probably pops into most peoples mind is housework. Coincidentally, there was an article in the (UK) Sunday newspapers: "Forty years of feminism - but women still do most of the housework", which got me thinking about housework, and the role played by both genders.

For my submission, I decided to photograph my son vacuuming with his 'toy' Dyson, the most basic and necessary of all household chores. This cuts across two gender stereotypes straight away - a boy playing with what could be perceived as a girl's toy and, a male vacuuming.

In post-processing, I've straightened the picture as it was slightly off-kilter and added a high contrast, blue shadow filter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.