Views of my world

By rosamund

Pilot

The children came home nice and early this morning which meant I got up early and made the most of my day.

I headed out for an early blip walk along the front at 9.30 nut stupidly had forgotten to charge the camera this weekend so my activity was curtailed. I popped home to plug in the charger then went and ran some errands for work before returning home to do some weaving and make a nice brunch for everyone.

It was a nice afternoon so I headed back out to Lunderston Bay to see if any more blipportunities would present themselves. It's funny through both walks I was trying to get interesting shots of birds, and was trying, to no avail, to get some nice birds in flight. I heard this boat speeding past and fired off a couple of shots, it wasn't til I was reviewing the pictures at home that I saw the black headed gull seemingly racing the pilot boat out to sea.

I had been wondering where all the oyster catchers had gone as I haven't seen any on the shore for a couple of weeks now, I heard one fly over head at Lunderston Bay and saw it land in a filed, I used the zoom to see where it landed and discovered a massive flock of them in the grass. Again, it wasn't til I got home I realised the flock in the fiels had a mixed population and also contained quite a number of curlews. They were so far away that the shots aren't great but it shows how much I have to learn about birds that I was completely shocked to see them in a field but on reading the RSPB website I see this is quite normal.

It's going to be a quiet evening of knitting & TV with the family, but first roast chicken dinner, time to put the spuds on I reckon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.