Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

Door or wall?

Door or wall? It's my choice, I want to put up a wall, but a door is probably the grown up way to go.

These two images were taken while I was in Wokingham today. This is where my mother lives, and during my visit I took a wander round the town in the beautiful sunshine.

The town dates back to 1383, and is currently a very genteel place with interesting old buildings and alley ways, even though it was well known for it's cock fighting and bull baiting...!

The door is from the Town Hall, which is in the centre of the town. The building was rebuilt in 1860, but there has been a town building there since before 1583. Henry III granted a market charter here in 1227 - there's still a market but the produce on sale has probably changed quite a bit!

The wall surrounds the Waitrose car park! Hey...you can't have it all...


Not being able to govern events, I govern myself, and apply myself to them, if they will not apply themselves to me. ~Michel de Montaigne, Essays, 1588

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.