Raspberryberet

By AprilJane

The Horses of St Marks

I really love these four bronze horses. I've seen them several times now and I'm always moved by how beautiful they are. They are so full of life and emotion. They used to be outside St Marks, but are now inside as they are so ancient. There are replicas outside instead.

About six years ago I was wrestling with making a huge life decision. We came to Venice and it was standing in front of these horses that I suddenly realised what choice I was going to make. I have never forgotten that moment, and will always make the effort to visit these beautiful creatures to say thank you, as the courage they gave me resulted in me making one of the best choices I have ever made.

We spend today walking in the sunshine, wandering through the tiny streets and over bridges, through sunny Campos and by the Grand Canal. We chatted and bought souvenirs for the children, stopped for coffees and ice-creams, ate lunch as we walked, bought from a doorway cafe by the two marble lions next to St Marks. We wandered for miles with no real destination, just loving being in Venice.

Cocktails, an amazing dinner and late drinks in the hotel bar. What a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.