Cosmosellie

By cosmosellie

Sunderland from Tunstall Hills-The Maiden's Baps

The picture is a composite of shots I took from the top of Tunstall hills. Tunstall hills are rocky outcrops above Sunderland where you can see for miles. The Cheviots in the north to Teesside in the south. There are 2 hills.

I was very proud because this is my first attempt at a stitch. I know the sky is variable colours but hey- not bad for a first go. You can see the whole of Sunderland laid out before you. I went a bit mad and stitched even more - I took shots of the whole 360 degrees but the image was getting longer and thinner so this was the best compromise. Behind me you can see all the way up to the Durham dales- Pontop Pike and Burnhope are clearly visible from the hills (not on the picture).


Tunstall hills are geological interesting as they are the remains of an ancient barrier reef and made of Cambrian limestone- I can feel the attention waning. However they are also known as the maiden's baps because of their shape-got you back.

I changed my image yesterday from the starling to a 100 sweeties. Thanks for all the good wishes from yesterday. I can no longer claim to be a newbie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.