The long journey

By thelongjourney

Scrapyard lullaby

Delayed my trip back down to Bristol for my final week at work since the car tires were dodgy...one of them had a huge bulge and we could not drive in it! Obviously, being bank holiday, nothing cold be done until tuesday which meant spending a bit of time at the mechanic first thing in the morning.

While my mechanic Paul was working his magic, I had a bit of a wander through his scrapyard...he's got all sorts of vintage cars that he renovates as well as very random stuff. His little stray cat kept me entertained by exploring the different cars with a look that screamed "I own all this".

Overall, a fun tuesday morning I would say :)

"In a sea of steel I seen a golden glow
Screaming the message anyone could know
Like a walking translation on a street of lies
Singing this scrapyard lullaby

Cause the chrome do rust and the dust do shine
Broken could be golden in it's very own time
You can be sure, you won't even know what for

Now I'm down in the junk on a darkened day
Searching through the prizes others throw away
Like a walking translation on a street of lies
Singing this scrapyard lullaby"

Scrapyard lullaby - Chris Whitley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.