rocky mountain black...

...squirrel

that's right... it's black - and it's a squirrel... here in the rocky mountains... it's been few and far between that i've seen one - usually they're up in the high country... so imagine my surprise -

when running on an upset tummy... ready to throw in the towel because being sick is just no fun at all - and wondering why i was outside in the first place - i looked up... looked again... yup - looked a 3rd time - sure enough... to my disbelief yet pure delight - there he was... a black squirrel. dancing around in the tree... okay - maybe not dancing - i could be making that part up...

i approached - he stared at me... i got closer - he stared some more... i raised my camera - he didn't budge... by this time, i was barely breathing - yet managed to begin my normal squirrel chattering - telling him how utterly gorgeous he was... 'cuz look at him... how can you resist that charm - doesn't he sort of remind you of a little black bear? too cute... so we played around for a few minutes - with him indulging me and the curious black box. i felt bad i had no treat for him to reward his patience - such good behavior... he finally decided he'd had enough - scampering off - it was enough for me... such a treat to engage with one so rare - it made for...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.