Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Lois

We go over to Mersea Island a lot to get some fresh air. It's one of our favourite family walks.

There is a connection here because it reminds me a lot of where I grew up, by the sea. But I wanted to tell you about another story.

I had bought a new lens, a Sigma 17-70mm. I have this love and fear of photography. A love of creating but the science I find intimidating and to be honest a bit baffling. I had been pondering on getting a new lens for a while. I had looked on the Web for months and reached data deluge.

Then one Saturday I was in town with my daughter Lois and was walking past a camera store, a proper enthusiasts shop.

I stopped and said to Lo, "Should I go in?"

She said"Sure go on"

She just gave me that grain of extra confidence I needed. The guy in the shop was great and really helpful. He has a customer for life now by how he talked to me.

To this day I am still learning about this camera. This shot I took the day after I bought the new lens and played about a bit in Aperture with the dodge and burn tools as well as adding a vignette.

More than anything though, apart from being one of my favourite photos that I have ever taken, I just love this shot of Lois. A little girl with a wise head on her shoulders who helps her Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.