Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

NEWCASTLE

Bit of an off day yesterday - one of those days when you can't be bothered and feel a bit sad for no good reason. I looked at blips but didn't get round to making many comments - will try to backtrack and catch up this evening.

Today I needed to go to Newcastle which was a good thing as it meant I had to make the effort. I had to go to St. James Park - home of Newcastle United - to get a ticket. I usually buy my tickets online but I had to go in person to exchange a ticket. Did a bit of shopping as well - got a couple of nice tops in Next.

My blip show the back of some old buildings in Gallowgate. They are Grade 1 and Grade 2 listed buildings and probably date from around 1900. They were built on to the ancient city walls dating back to 13th century. Newgate Prison in Newgate Street was used as Newcastle Gaol from 1399 and condemned prisoners would make their final journey from the aptly named Gallowgate to the Gallows on Newcastle Town Moor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.