Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Detail.

My new 50mm f1.8 lens arrived this morning. Obviously the first thing I had to try was DOF playing around. I took a few pictures around Newent but they weren't what I was after. No bokeh opportunities (something I'm very keen to learn about (as well as Gaussian stuff) - ahemhem!).

Fortunately Mum and Dad kept some of the soldiers I lovingly painted as a kid. These lads are only the size of a grain of rice an inch tall and I painted them twenty years ago with the chewed-up ends of cocktail sticks (no expensive brushes required).

Getting them out tonight was an absolute joy. I know M&D kept them, but actually seeing them took me back two decades to the time I was insistent on the fact that stamped tin helmets were olive green (as was the the '38 pattern webbing).

An entire oeuvre opens.......

(can you please help?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.