Plus ça change...

By SooB

Share toy

Another lazy kids snap today. I went to pick the car up from the garage this morning and spotted some kite surfers off Longniddry Bents on the way back. Delighted to be able to get a blip under my belt before lunch, I stopped and found a good vantage point, great background, etc etc to get some shots of them leaping off the tops of the waves (it was pretty windy). That, of course, was when I remembered that my memory card was still in the card reader, and all the spares were on the desk waiting for me to have a chance to sort them out. Grrr.

So I dragged the kids back there after school and Katherine continued with her Olympic training programme: today was clearly strength training.

This also just proves how kids really don't need flash toys - this driftwood was a horse, a seesaw, weight-lifting equipment, and even a drawing tool. Kept them busy while I took rubbish pictures of oyster catchers and mossy rocks.

Then we had a stirring conversation about what a 'soul' might be. Someone in her class had suggested it was like your genes ("not the kind you wear" Katherine was careful to point out, in case I was confused about my 501s being the repository of my immortal self...). Kids think up some really amazing stuff - I think teachers must have to be very disciplined to actually get any work done - I know I'd just want to chat all day about the cool things they come up with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.