L's journal

By lfoxy

Not Even the Chair

Our drama studios have such an inviting and creative atmosphere that even the chairs take to sitting in corners and talking to walls.

I love creating performances and devising but sometimes the space in which you do this can have an affect on what is created.

With our new campus we saw the drama department downsized. Behind the brown, foldable screens in my photo lies the rest of the studio, covered in weights for the gym. The whole studio used to be ours, but one summer we came back to discover the weights had rolled in and set up camp.

Now, whilst I'm attempting to find the creative juices to dance around to Kenny Loggin's Footloose (a long story!) as part of my solo performance, on the other side of the screen are sweaty, net vested men grunting as they pump iron (or snort as they wonder what the hell I am doing!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.