Marking Time

By Libra

Magic flute - Dominica

From my studio

Today I uploaded to Youtube a clip of Christopher on the island of Dominica.
This is often described as the most natural and unspoiled in the Caribbean.

But this story is no idyllic tale of a simple life.

For Christopher, is an amputee.

He lost his leg in a hit and run accident ten years ago when he got knocked off his bike on his way to work as a tourist guide.

The man was never charged.

He needs an artificial leg and there is no Health Service on the island so he is forced to make flutes from bamboo cane and sell them to tourists.


So far he has raised nearly 800 dollars of the 1,500 dollars he needs.

I met him at the Nelson waterfall where he sits most days playing to tourists and hoping that they will buy one of his flutes for ten dollars.


Today that flute hangs in my studio, a poignant reminder of Third World poverty.

I wish something could be done to help him raise the money. All I can do is raise some awareness of his situation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.