imagejen

By jennyg

Geevor Tin Mine

Woke up to very thick fog, I had given the go ahead by email yesterday, for the field trip with the U3A to Geevor Tin Mine. As I had arranged it I felt I had to go.

When I got there it was still foggy, quit a lot of the group turned up, we decided to have a coffee first to see if the fog would clear a bit. This we did and it was very atmospheric there.

Everyone seemed to have had a good mornings photography, as towards the end the sun broke through. After lunch we decided to finish.

I have quite a lot of shot today, I thought I would put a misty Blip up, but on the way out I took a shot of the Victoria Shaft Headgear with the lovely sky that had cleared. So that is my Blip today.

Geevor Mine was operational between 1911 and 1990 during which time it produced about 50,000 tons of black tin. It is now a museum and heritage centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.