Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Tools

The old tools of particular trades can have a general interest. I think of the phials and bottles of an old fashioned apothecary for instance. Some of my old tools might have the same sort of appeal I think. I like the clock oil label and the three little bottles still with their original corks in, marked "Luminous compound' (probably quite radioactive!), 'Dusting powder' and 'Watch and Clock Oil". I did think of setting a challenge for someone to determine the use of the brass tool. However, it would be rather unfair as it a bit technical. It is actually for setting up two gear wheels so that they mesh correctly gear to pinion. The correct distance can then be transferred only a brass watch or clock plate and the holes drilled. I hear Mrs TT saying that is quite enough of the nerdy, techy stuff so I will leave it at that. I will, however, leave you with the challenge of naming the principal clockmaking department of France and the city in which the glass lamp was made, not far away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.