Muddy Adventures!

By TheFarmersWife

Caught out......

This is my first 'back-blip'.
Yesterday I was busy preparing for my first book club. It was the idea of my friend and I that we wanted a no-stress, no-pressure chance to have a cuppa, a cake and a natter (and possibly wine!) and I had offered to host it, seeing as The farmer was out for the evening. I baked devils food cake and custard cupcakes, the Book was 'Before I Go To Sleep' by S.J.Watson.

The problem with chosing a night when the husband was out was that yes, ok, he wouldn't be under our feet but also, he wasn't there to help with any emergency lambing. An hour before my girl-friends were due I popped into the field next to the house to check the ewes. I thought this would then leave me a good half hour to hoover and get washed and changed. But the ewes had other ideas. There were two of the wildest ewes we have both with their water bags hanging out. Well, I tried to get them in on my own, in the dark and it wasn't happening. I called the shepherd but he didn't answer. I got my non-farming parents out to help. Then eventually the shepherd came. After much running around in the dark we lambed both ewes. One had a good pair of lambs. The other lambed one weak lamb who ended up in the bottom of my aga overnight and one still-born lamb.

By the time I got back indoors, my eight friends had been inplace for over half an hour with two of my children entertaining them. I never got a chance to change or shower. But it was a great evening. The book was a good choice, some enjoyed, some were annoyed by it, but it gave us lots to discuss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.