hanging out...

...just above the ground

before landing - right in front of me! yup... right - in - front - of - me!!

there were 2 geese... flying straight at me... they'd heard the unmistakable laughter of a little boy who had bread crumbs - was scattering them in the distance behind me... so of course there was all kinds of fluttering and flying to be had amongst the feathered ones that were about... pigeons, gulls, coots, crows - then i heard honking in front of me - turned, spotted the 2 geese... looking like rounded cannons making like a beeline - right at me... uh- oh

what to do? raise that camera - stand as still as possible - press the shutter button... right? isn't that what you'd do? oh - and don't make a sound... i figured they saw me and there was no need for me to yell at them to veer off course - even though by all accounts it really did appear they were about to run smack dab into me... at what i thought was the last minute - this one pulled up - hovering over the ground while i snapped away, holding my breath - resisting the urge to reach out and touch him... that's how close i was - within arms distance... a glorious sight to behold such remarkable precision in landing - the ability to stop so quickly, put the brakes on, missing me - balancing in air like this - so graceful... geese are one of my most favorite of animals/birds because of this very thing. yet another treasure - making for...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.