0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

iCD

The photo I had in mind for today was going to be for ODC theme 'Brown' but due to both time constraints and complexity I was unable to complete it. I hope to come back to that at some stage if I feel up to it.

So I had to re-plan and think of something else - I went experimental (taking an idea from Evan at PhotoExtremist.com).

Each circle you see is a water droplet on the surface of a CD. Initially, I tried a small angle to focus on individual water droplets but didn't get the effect I was after with my zoom lens - a Macro would have worked much better. Getting the reflections in the CD and water droplets was very much experimental with the light source, different angles/distance/luminance and of course exposure time.

This photo is taken from a top-down view with the light source focused on the centre for the allotted exposure time. Apart from the slight over-exposure on one quarter of the picture I'm really pleased with this work.

In post-processing, I've hiked up the clarity, vibrance and saturation and cleaned-up the surrounding surface to create a more black background, including the centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.