pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Time to play

My daughter came round this evening for our bi-weekly Tuesday evening dinner. I don't see her as much as I'd like and usually on these evenings I like to cook her favourite; spaghetti bolognaise.

Tonight we had an easy pizza, chips and beans which left more time to play and sort though one of her boxes of toys she'd accumulated at her second home (mine).

I pulled out all of the ones you see above and we talked about memories we had associated with a particular toy. There's a purple dragon in there somewhere which we obtained when purchasing my mum's Mini Cooper S JCW whilst out with my dad. It sounds boring on the face of it, but I think Carmen liked it, because it was a rare day "out with the boys" for her.

It slowly dawned on me that these were all toys that she'd got as part of her Happy Meal at McDonald's over the last couple of years. Given that each toy represents a portion of either nuggets & chips or fish fingers & chips, to say I was mildly horrified at the amount of crap she's eaten over that period of time would be an understatement.

However, in the long term her health doesn't appear to have been adversely affected, the toys made her happy (so I can't sue McDonald's under the Trade Descriptions Act) and we haven't been through the golden arches for months now - due in no small part to the amazing culinary skills of one @fionahutchinson.

Despite this, in a bid to ease my aching conscience, our next Tuesday evening dinner will definitely see a return to a bowl of Spag Bol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.