Clare Fowler

By AnsdellClare

Comfort fruit

I bought these figs today and ate one as soon as I got home...warm and soft and sweet...delicious. I was feeling in need of some comfort food as I had just been told that Heidi, my dog, is probably suffering from epilepsy.

She's had a few seizures lately and I thought it best to get her checked out, which I did this morning. She's on tranquilizers and aspirin at the moment and under surveillance! She's also got cataracts in both eyes (which I didn't know about) and a stiff shoulder (which I did know about), so we've come to the conclusion that she's older than we thought she was. I've had the pleasure of her company for nearly five years and she'd just had a litter of pups when I first got her (all of which had been re-homed by the rescue centre) but no-one was really sure of her age! Turns out she's at least ten, so it's okay for her to get a bit cranky now and then! Still, she's my furry baby and I love her to bits...so does Chris, my son, but he'll have to be a bit less frantic in his play with her now!

More later...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.