Ian's learning curve

By ianrav

Caffeine

'I believe humans get a lot done, not because we're smart, but because we have thumbs so we can make coffee'.

Flash Rosenberg


Time to come clean.

I have a problem.

I am truly a caffeine addict.

Up to 6 pints of coffee a day (yes pints - that mug in the picture takes a full pint of coffee) along with with the 'odd' stimulant drink means I must be consuming a seriously unhealthy quantity of caffeine. Not good.

Today I went cold turkey (OK thats actually a bit of a lie as I only decided to go 'cold turkey' after putting my empties in the recycling and moving my 'mug' to the kitchen - but the sentiment is there and it makes for a better blip..).

No coffee tomorrow, Sunday or any other day after that. Totally determined.

It has been suggested that I go de-caff. However, to me thats like drinking non-alcoholic beer: perfectly acceptable but why do it? If you don't want to drink alcohol there are much better drinks available. Same with coffee.

Tomorrow I start on the water!
.
.
.
.
(although I'm in France for a couple of days next week and it would be impolite not have the odd espresso........ :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.